His Presence Is a Gift

Matthew 28:20

And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.

God is real. I know this because I have experienced Him for myself. Many people who have this belief in God don’t actually view Him as more than a concept, a far away idea. It’s similar to how you know Paris is real, but you don’t actually understand what Paris is until you go there yourself. God isn’t just a person, but He’s also a dwelling place. “The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms,” [Deuteronomy 33:27]. I’ve been there, and I never wanted to leave. To my delight, I never will escape God’s presence. Hebrews 13:5 says, “For He Himself has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.'” Each encounter God has with His children is unique and special. I pray that I will never forget mine.

For years I have been praying to, without a doubt, receive the gift of baptism in the Holy Spirit. I had seen others speak in tongues, but to be quite transparent, it intimidated me. There is so much power and fire in it that I wasn’t sure if I was able to enter God’s presence that way. I had either tried to in the past, or avoided it altogether for the fear of failure. I now understand why I held that fear, which is not from the Lord.

The enemy doesn’t want our intimacy with the Father to grow, which praying in tongues does. “For he who speaks in a tongue does not speak to men but to God, for no one understands him; however, in the spirit he speaks mysteries,” [1 Corinthians 14:2]. On the way to College Station, before heading to SALT (a Chi Alpha conference), I had talked to Jesus and asked Him to give me this wonderful gift while at SALT. On December 30, 2017, between 10-11 p.m., Donnie Moore announced the alter call for baptism in the Holy Spirit. With my eyes closed, Donnie placed a hand on my forehead and told me that when I opened my mouth, I would be set free. I didn’t feel his hand anymore, but instead a spiritual hand. Then, like a waterfall from inside me, I erupted in powerful words that I could not understand, but I felt came from deep within. There are no words that could accurately depict the feeling I had during this divine appointment with God. I felt a warm, heavy, blanket-like presence wrap around me, and I felt a spirit standing next to me. When I talked to Jesus, I didn’t imagine I was talking to some mysterious Being that is lightyears away; I sensed Him in the room with me, holding me from my left side. I felt as if there were a glass box around us, like a shield that no one and no thing could enter. It was just us. The worship music echoed in this box and was more beautiful than it was before I entered into His presence. He embraced me in His love, and I could physically feel a hug envelop me, but not like one of a human. It was spiritual. It took away the weight of sins that I had carried before, and they held no value anymore; they just didn’t matter. Many people think God is a harsh and judgmental God, but that couldn’t be farther from the truth. He sent Jesus to die on the cross for our sins, and to wipe them away because He loves us. Sin has no power over us as children of the Almighty God, and death has no sting. He casts our sin aside as far as the east is to the west and invites us into His family. John 3:17 says, “For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through Him.” He hates the sin, not the one who commits them. I was so overwhelmed by this undeniable experience that I told Jesus I never wanted Him to leave me. He never has and never will. It was in that moment that I realized that what I felt had been there all along.

ccab0d81f1d82a42cfce32e79b6bc74c.jpg

 

Jesus and I have shared many rainbows together that He has given me as tokens of His love. After leaving the ballroom where Jesus and I danced together in Spirit for the first time, I returned to my hotel room. My experience with Jesus continued.

unnamed.jpg

 

When you look at the room, you see mess. When we look at our own hearts, we see sin. The enemy lies to us by telling us that we’re not worthy of Christ’s love because of our sin. He wants us to focus on our sins instead of searching for God. He tells us that our sins are too big for God to forgive us or want to spend time with us. Romans 5:8 says, “While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” He loves us despite our mess!! Upon first looking at the window, there doesn’t appear to be anything special about it. As I approached it, I noticed something I hadn’t seen before.

unnamed-1.jpg

 

 

First, I saw my reflection. Even in all I have done against God, I was still made in His image, a reflection of Him. He loves me despite my sins, and continues to gently reveal them to me and guide me in removing them from my life. Then I saw a swirl of color — a rainbow, God’s symbol to me as a way of reminding me that He is with me always. While I was far away from the window (the symbol of God’s presence), there was nothing there, or so I thought. But as I got closer, I could physically see the colors for myself.

unnamed-2.jpg

 

I thought to myself, “Has this been here the entire time without me noticing it?” God whispered to my heart, “Yes, I’ve been here the entire time. My Spirit will always be with you, daughter. I love you.” It’s amazing how creative God is in how He romances us when we draw closer to Him. We don’t always take the time to be aware of His presence. He is so perfect and so holy, yet He chooses to have a relationship with us.

When I woke up yesterday morning to read my devotional for the day, I was blown away at how absolutely meticulous the message was in relation to what God has been revealing to me.

unnamed-4.jpg

 

 

Whether or not you believe in the things I have told you, I pray that you, too, will find yourself captivated by God’s glory. Romans 14:11 says, “It is written: ‘As surely as I live,’ says the Lord, ‘every knee will bow before me; every tongue will acknowledge God.’” I hope that you will acknowledge the Truth on this side of eternity. In John 14:6, Jesus said to him, I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.” I wouldn’t be telling you this if I didn’t know it to be true, but I have experienced God for myself. If you don’t believe in the baptism of the Holy Spirit, or even in Christ Jesus, you are surely missing out on the best gift that could ever be given, the gift of His presence. Even if you’re scared or unsure, ask God to reveal Himself to you. He will for you, just as He does for me often with beautiful rainbows. He loves you, and I do too.

John 16:33

 

The Lord your God in your midst, The Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.”

I do not own the featured image. Credit is due to Delores Develde.
https://www.pinterest.com/moonlitdancewme/dolores-develde-art/?lp=true

Leave a comment